Editors & Board


Our current Masthead

Previous mastheads



Advisory Editorial Board


Editorial Team

Bernd Pulverer (Chief Editor)

Following undergraduate studies in Cambridge, Bernd received his PhD in 1992 from the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, London, for uncovering posttranslational regulation of the transcription factors c-Jun and c-Myc by the JNK and MAP kinases. He carried out postdoctoral research at the Ontario Cancer Institute, Toronto, the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle and at the University of Innsbruck. Bernd was associate and then senior editor at Nature from 1999 until 2002 and subsequently chief editor of Nature Cell Biology. He joined EMBO in 2009 as chief editor of The EMBO Journal and Head of Scientific Publications.
tel: +49 6221 8891 501


Karin Dumstrei (Senior Editor)

Responsible for:
Immunology; Neuroscience; Host Pathogen Interaction

Karin received her PhD from the University of California Los Angeles where she studied DE-cadherin mediated cell adhesion in Drosophila in the lab of Volker Hartenstein. She then went to the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen where she worked on primordial germ cell migration in zebrafish with Erez Raz. Karin joined The EMBO Journal in 2005.
tel: +49 6221 8891 406



Hartmut Vodermaier (Senior Editor)

Responsible for:
Cell Cycle; DNA Replication, Repair & Recombination; Post-translational Modifications, Proteolysis & Proteomics; Structural Biology

Hartmut received his PhD from the University of Vienna for his work on ubiquitination and the cell cycle carried out in the group of Jan-Michael Peters. In his postdoctoral work in the laboratory of Andrea Musacchio at the IFOM-IEO campus in Milan, he focussed on the role of kinetochore proteins in chromosome segregation. Hartmut joined The EMBO Journal in 2006.
tel: +49 6221 8891 401



David del Alamo (Editor)

Responsible for:
Developmental Biology; Stem Cells; Cell Adhesion, Polarity & Cytoskeleton; Microbiology & Virology; Vascular Biology; Molecular Biology of Disease

David received his PhD. from the Madrid's Autónoma University where he studied proximal-distal patterning in Drosophila with Fernando Díaz-Benjumea. As a postdoc, he continued working with Drosophila, first in Marek Mlodzik's lab (Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York) on the mechanisms of epithelial planar cell polarity generation, and then with François Schweisguth (Institut Pasteur, Paris) where he focused on the modulation of Notch signalling in lateral inhibition. David joined The EMBO Journal in 2011.
tel: +49 6221 8891 309



Andrea Leibfried (Editor)

Responsible for:
Plant Biology; Membranes & Intracellular Transport; Cell Death & Autophagy; Metabolism

Andrea worked with Jan Lohmann on stem cell maintenance in the plant Arabidopsis before moving to the field of trafficking. In 2009 she obtained her PhD from the Université Pierre et Marie Curie in Paris, for which she studied DE-Cadherin trafficking in Drosophila with Yohanns Bellaiche at the Curie Institute. She then went to Anne Ephrussi's lab at the EMBL in Heidelberg to work on oocyte polarity and mRNA trafficking in Drosophila. Andrea joined The EMBO Journal in 2013.
tel: +49 6221 8891 417



Anne Nielsen (Editor)

Responsible for:
RNA Biology; Protein Biosynthesis & Quality Control; Structural Biology; Systems, Chemical and Computational Biology; Channels; Transcription; Chromatin & Epigenetics 

Anne received her PhD from Aarhus University in 2008 for work on miRNA processing in Joergen Kjems' lab. As a postdoc she then went on to join Javier Martinez' lab at IMBA in Vienna and focused on siRNA-binding proteins and non-conventional splicing in the unfolded protein response. Anne joined The EMBO Journal in 2012.
tel: +49 6221 8891 408



Daniel Klimmeck (Editor)

Responsible for:
Stem Cells; Signal Transduction; Ageing; Metabolism; Molecular Biology of Disease; Cancer

Daniel received his PhD in 2008 with work on ion channel signaling in sensory neurons in the laboratory of Stephan Frings at the University of Heidelberg. As a postdoc, he focused on the molecular characterization of cancer and hematopoietic stem cells with Andreas Trumpp at the DKFZ and Jeroen Krijgsveld at EMBL. Daniel joined The EMBO Journal in 2015.
tel: +49 6221 8891 407





Journal Staff

Fiona Panayi - Editorial Assistant
Meryl Schneider - Editorial Assistant
Gerlinde Schüster - Editorial Assistant
Joel Maupin - Editorial Assistant
Erica Boxheimer - Editorial Assistant
Sandra Krahl - Graphics Editor


Wiley Editorial Staff

Cate Livingstone - Executive Editor, Global Research, Wiley
Georgi Hristov - Assistant Editor, EMBO Press
Henrike Klinker - Assistant Editor, EMBO Press
Vivian Killet - Assistant Editor, EMBO Press
Uta Mackensen - Graphics Editor


Advisory Editorial Board

Alan Hall (1952- 2015)
We note with great sadness the passing of Alan Hall, long standing member of the editorial advisory board

Reuven Agami
Andrés Aguilera
Dario Alessi
Geneviève Almouzni
Johan Auwerx
David Barford
Denise P Barlow
Facundo Batista
David Baulcombe
Anton J Berns
Cedric Blanpain
Chris Bowler
Erik Boye
Bernd Bukau
Javier Cáceres
Pico Caroni
Christine E Clayton
Hans Clevers
Daniela Corda
Patrick Cramer
Pietro V De Camilli
Bart De Strooper
Ivan Dikic
Vishva Dixit
Giulio F Draetta
Martin Eilers
Jeff Errington
Reinhard Fässler
Susan M Gasser
Holger Gerhardt
Pierre Gönczy
Magdalena Götz
Ingrid Grummt
Crisanto Gutierrez
Christian Haass
· Alan Hall ·
Michael N Hall
Randy Hall
Stephen C Harrison
F Ulrich Hartl
Carl-Philipp Heisenberg
Ari H Helenius
Kristian Helin
Regine Hengge
Nobutaka Hirokawa
Mark Hochstrasser
Tim Hunt
Tony Hunter
Ed Hurt
Nancy E Hynes
Elisa Izaurralde
Stephen P Jackson
Reinhard Jahn
Roland Kanaar
V. Narry Kim
Rüdiger Klein
Guido Kroemer
Thomas Kunkel
Karim Labib
Achim Leutz
Joachim Lingner
Bernard Malissen
Javier Martinez
Joan Massagué
Iain W Mattaj
Marjori Matzke
Ira Mellman
Marco Milán
Sean Morrison
Jorge Moscat
Shmuel Muallem
Sean Munro
Kiyoshi Nagai
Christof Niehrs
M Angela Nieto
Bernd Nilius
Eisuke Nishida
Poul Nissen
Paul Nurse
Andre Nussenzweig
Moshe Oren
Tom Owen-Hughes
Marcus E Peter
Matthias Peter
Nikolaus Pfanner
Jonathon Pines
Olaf Pongs
Anthony Pugsley
Peter J Ratcliffe
Caetano Reis e Sousa
Anne Ridley
Marina Rodnina
David Ron
Helen R Saibil
Philippe J Sansonetti
Dirk Schübeler
Paul Schulze-Lefert
Luca Scorrano
Bertrand Séraphin
Michael Sheetz
David J Sherratt
Benny Shilo
Roberto Sitia
Austin Smith
Harald Stenmark
Thomas Surrey
Masatoshi Takeichi
Sharon Tooze
Laszlo Tora
Hiroki Ueda
Frank Uhlmann
Daan van Aalten
Gerrit van Meer
Isabelle Vernos
Jörg Vogel
Olivier Voinnet
Karen Vousden
Gabriel Waksman
Michael Way
Stephen C West
Eric Westhof
Dale Wigley
Alfred Wittinghofer
Dieter H Wolf
Richard Wood
Jeff Wrana